Higher Diploma in Accounting

CAMS, a trusted name in finance and business education since 1994, has now become a premier education provider in Karachi offering a range of qualifications from professional courses of ACCA, CIMA, CA of ICAEW & ICAP, and CFA to degree programs such as BBA, MBA, BIS, Management, Marketing etc in affiliation with local and internationally recognized accrediting bodies.

CAMS is an Approved Tuition Provider of BIMS (British Institute of Management Studies) that offers different suites of qualifications in Accounting, Financial Management, Business Management, Internal Auditing and Islamic Banking. Its qualifications are validated by the Scottish Qualification Authority (SQA) of UK. The SQA is the non-departmental public body of the Scottish Government responsible for accreditation and educational awards and also the national accreditation body in Scotland, UK.


Higher Diploma in Accounting is jointly certified by SQA and BIMS. It is recognized by the universities and professional bodies in the UK and across the globe. In addition to its recognition by UK universities and colleges for advance standing within relevant undergraduate programs it is also accredited by the following professional accounting bodies:

a) Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales (ICAEW)

b) The Association of Chartered Certified Accountant (ACCA)

c) The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)

Units in HDA

Units in HDA

H1 Financial Accounting MCQ External CBE
H2 Management Accounting MCQ External CBE
H3 Business & Finance MCQ External CBE
H4 Financial Management Essay-Type Broad Questions
H5 Assurance MCQ External CBE
H6 Taxation (UK) Essay-type Broad Questions
H7 Business Law & Company Law MCQ External CBE
H8 Advanced Management Accounting Essay-type Broad Questions
H9 Business Strategy Essay-type Broad Questions
H10 Business Economics & Business Mathematics MCQ External CBE

A student must pass 6 exams out of the above to become an HDA graduate. However, students will be eligible for exemptions in the following qualification on the basis of selection of exams:

For 8 exemptions in CA – ICAEW student should take H1,H2,H3,H4,H5,H6,H7 & H9

For 6 exemptions in ACCA student should take H1,H2,H6,H8 plus any 2 units

For 5 exemptions in CIMA student should take H1,H2,H7,H10 plus any 2 units

Exam Schedule

Essay type exams are held on 1st of every month and CBE are held between 2nd to 7th day of every month. However, student can attempt 1 essay type and 2 CBEs each month.

Admission policy

The admission policy to HDA qualification is open to all however, for admission in CAMS in HDA students must meet the following criteria:

  1. A’Levels
  2. Intermediate with 60% marks
  3. O’Levels and Matric students will individually be assessed about their ability to cope with HDA exams by CAMS

Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL)

(Partly qualified ICAP, PIPFA & ICMAP)

The decision of APL will be on the sole discretion of BIMS. ICAP, ICMAP and PIPFA part qualified students and BBA, MBA, B.Com and relevant degree graduate may get advance standings (ALP) in to HDA.

Registration Fee

The registration fee of 295 Pound Sterling is to be paid to BIMS via CAMS. The fee is valid for 3 years. The students do not need to pay any charges like exam fee, annual fee etc during this period.